Celebrating the 480th Bremen Schaffermahlzeit

Philip W. Herwig takes on a key role at traditional Bremen event

From the handsomely decorated hall to the annual schedule filled with Hanseatic tradition: On 9 February 2024, the 480th Schaffermahlzeit will take place in Bremen City Hall. The event is the oldest annual banquet in the world and considered one of the most important social events in Germany. Organised by the ‘Stiftung Haus Seefahrt’ foundation, the Schaffermahlzeit has symbolised the close ties between Bremen's shipping industry and merchants since 1545. Around 300 people attend the banquet: 100 commercial members of the foundation, 100 nautical members of the foundation and 100 external guests from the worlds of business, culture, politics and administration. Germany’s Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier has also been invited as this year's guest of honour.

Pictured from right to left: 1st Schaffer Philip W. Herwig, Managing Partner and Chairman of the Global Executive Board at Röhlig Logistics, 2nd Schaffer Dr. Heidi Armbruster-Domeyer, Managing Partner at Domeyer GmbH & Co. KG, 3rd Schaffer Jan-Oliver Buhlmann, CEO at BUHLMANN Group. Image source: Klaus Fittschen, MEDIA pictures
Image source: Klaus Fittschen, MEDIA pictures

"Our family business was founded in Bremen over 170 years ago and has been firmly anchored in the city ever since. I myself came into contact with the Schaffermahlzeit at an early age - my father was a Schaffer in 1994, and in 2002 I had the honour of helping to open the associated seafaring ball. It is a great honour for me to now take on the role of Schaffer myself,"

Philip W. Herwig, Managing Partner and Chairman of the Global Executive Board at Röhlig Logistics

More news
Röhlig Logistics anuncia nombramientos directivos y cambios en la estructura de gestión en China y Hong Kong

La empresa de logística gestionada por sus propietarios Röhlig Logistics ha nombrado a Christoph Passek Director General para China y Hong Kong y ha reforzado su estructura regional con el nombramiento de cuatro Gerentes Generales de Área para las nuevas regiones de China Septentrional, China Oriental, China Meridional y Hong Kong y China Occidental, con efecto a partir del 1 de enero de 2024.